Austinite to Castiglionese

Austin to London by way of Atlanta, London to Fiumicino, Fuimicino to Castiglion Fiorentino.

I’ve never been out of the country. I’ve never experienced the sterility of individually wrapped meal components especially when food at thirty five thousand feet has always been pretzels and honey “roasted” peanuts. I’ve never had trouble ordering food or asking for directions. I’ve never been foreign. I feel strange; kind of like I left the iron on only to realise that I don’t own an iron.

These feelings are all so very metaphysical that it’s hard stop and absorb that I’m no longer in Austin. I’m no longer drinking two dollar drip coffee from Medici but rather one euro cappuccino from Bar Maro. I’m washing my clothes by hand without machines. I eat well every night at one big table with my friends.

There is so much newness that I’ll save my adoration of Italy for later, but I will include a few pictures from the places I visited since leaving the States.

Firenze on Wednesday. I smell pesto from the kitchen. A presto amici.

Trafalgar Square
Via San Giuliano
Cassero
Processione
Arezzo
5 thoughts on “Austinite to Castiglionese

  1. Enjoy your time in Italy. You will never forget the time you spend there. I want to go back to the Amalfi Coast really bad!

Leave a Reply

